30° Titres SPECIAL ISSUE ZERMATT 2015-2016

Logo-CAS
30° Magazine: official media partner
of the Swiss Alpine Club (SAC)
for competition sports

Enregistrer

Enregistrer

Editorial

Let’s go back in time, to 1865, a year when Queen Victoria was on the British throne, Monet had just completed Le Déjeuner sur l’herbe, the American Civil War had finally come to an end and the search for the source of the Nile was still going on. Meanwhile, in Zermatt seven men set off to scale the pyramid of rock that towers defiantly over the town. Only three of them would return alive, the English climber Edward Whymper and his guides, Mr Taugwalder and son. The tragic death of their companions played its part in making Whymper’s maiden ascent of the Matterhorn a legendary feat.
This year saw Zermatt enthusiastically celebrate the 150th anniversary of that climb. Lights lit up the Hörnli ridge, the route Whymper took to the summit, while a series of plays telling the tale of the expedition, complete with period costumes, were staged during the summer. A whole host of concerts and other events marked the occasion, in a warm and friendly atmosphere. The Hörnli Hut also reopened, refurbished entirely with the future in mind.
Zermatt has undergone profound changes over the last 150 years. Once a tiny mountain hamlet, it is now a legendary mountaineering destination. Its stunning backdrop of 38 peaks standing more than 4,000m high now echoes to the sound of English, Russian, Hindi, Japanese and a host of other languages. When getting off the train from Täsch, visitors are treated to the sight of carriages drawn by proud horses with snow-dappled coats and a village that has retained its charm and character. Add falling snowflakes, a couple of snowdrifts and the picture-postcard scene is complete.
With this as a setting, 30° is proud to play its part in projecting Zermatt’s enticing appeal to all four corners of the planet. As well as revealing some of its essential attractions, such as the Gornergrat’s cogwheel train, these pages also cast a light on some of the larger-than-life characters who help make Zermatt what it is today, people such as Kurt Lauber, the warden of the Hörnlihütte; the young guide/prodigy Andreas Steindl; the unique restaurateur Urs Biner – aka singer Dan Daniell – and his friend, the former Abba star Frida. For them and for us, Zermatt is and will always be the real heart of the Alps.

Happy Christmas and have a good winter!

Christian Bugnon | Publisher & Editor-in-chief

www.30degrees.tv | www.30degres.swiss | www.30grad.tv

Content

NEWS | LUXURY AND INDULGENCE at penthouse Nabucco | PDG The greatest of all ski mountaineering races leaves from Zermatt | STRADDLING WORK and wellbeing | LEANDER WENGER in relentless pursuit of the perfect light | URS BINER alias Dan Daniell. Meet the singing restaurateur | SALVATORE ELEFANTE Bringing Mediterranean cuisine to the heart of the Alps | BACKCOUNTRY SKIING to the magnificent Monte Rosa hut | THE GRONERGRAT BAHN The mountain train with a story to tell | KILIAN JORNET Ambassador for the globe-trotter’s watch | AIR ZERMATT Scenically stunning | HÖRNLIHÜTTE Waiting in the wings of the Matterhorn | KURT LAUBER 20 years of watching over the Matterhorn | ANDREAS STEINDL Meditating in the mountains | GREAT SKIING Probably the best ski resort in the world | SKI REVIEW Our pick of this season’s best skis | SKI BOOTS REVIEW Boots to match your feet and skis | VALAIS RYE BREAD A healthy local staple | TRENDS Sport | TRENDS watches | ZERMATT Shops | TRENDS Design

Share

30° Titres
HORS-SERIE ZERMATT
2015-2016

Logo-CAS
Magazine 30°: partenaire officiel média
du Club Alpin Suisse CAS
pour les sports de compétition

Enregistrer

Enregistrer

Editorial

Remontons le temps – destination 1865. En cette année-là, Victoria règne, Monet vient de peindre le Déjeuner sur l’herbe, la guerre de Sécession s’achève enfin aux Etats-Unis et on cherche encore à confirmer l’emplacement des sources du Nil… A Zermatt, sept hommes s’attaquent à la pyramide rocheuse qui défie la ville. Seuls trois en reviendront vivants, l’Anglais Edward Whymper et les guides Taugwalder père et fils. La mort tragique de leurs compagnons contribue à faire entrer leur conquête dans la légende.
En 2015, Zermatt a célébré avec ferveur le sesquicentenaire de la première ascension du Cervin. A la mise en lumière de la crête du Hörnli, voie classique vers le sommet, est venue s’ajouter, au cœur de l’été, une sympathique série de représentations théâtrales en costumes redonnant vie aux protagonistes de l’aventure et à leur époque. Concerts, animations, ambiance chaleureuse et conviviale de rigueur. Dans la foulée, s’est inscrite la réouverture de la cabane du Hörnli, extirpée du passé et repensée pour le futur.
En 150 ans, Zermatt a connu une profonde métamorphose. Le hameau de montagne d’autrefois est devenu icône de l’alpinisme. Dans l’écrin scintillant de ses 38 sommets de plus de 4000 m, résonnent désormais anglais, russe, hindi, japonais… A la descente du train de Täsch, le visiteur découvre le cliché attendu: une calèche tirée par de fiers chevaux à la robe neige tachetée et une bourgade qui a su garder son caractère. Ajoutons quelques flocons hivernaux, une sympathique patinoire extérieure, et la carte postale est parachevée.
Dans ce tableau, 30° est fier de contribuer à diffuser la belle image de Zermatt aux quatre coins de la planète. Dans ces pages, vous découvrirez quelques incontournables, à l’image du petit train du Gornergrat. Mais vous rencontrerez surtout de forts caractères qui contribuent à façonner la Zermatt d’aujourd’hui. Comme Kurt Lauber, le gardien de la Hörnlihütte. Comme le jeune guide-prodige Andreas Steindl. Comme le fantasque restaurateur-chanteur Urs Biner, alias Dan Daniell, et son amie Frida, ex-star du groupe Abba. Pour eux comme pour nous, Zermatt reste et restera toujours le cœur véritable des Alpes.

Joyeux Noël et bel hiver!

Christian Bugnon | Editeur & rédacteur en chef

www.30degres.swiss | www.30grad.tv | www.30degrees.tv

Sommaire de ce numéro

NEWS | LUXE ET VOLUPTE au penthouse Nabucco | PDG La plus mythique des courses de ski-alpinisme part de Zermatt | A CHEVAL entre travail et bien-être | LEANDER WENGER traque inlassablement la lumière dans les montagnes | URS BINER alias Dan Daniell, restaurateur et chanteur | SALVATORE ELEFANTE Des saveurs méditerranéennes au cœur des Alpes | A SKI DE RANDO vers la magnifique cabane du Mont-Rose | LE GORNERGRAT BAHN Ce petit train qui s’en va dans la montagne | KILIAN JORNET Ambassadeur de la montre des globe-trotters | AIR ZERMATT Roi du panorama LA HÖRNLIHÜTTE Voie royale vers le Cervin | KURT LAUBER veille sur le Cervin depuis 20 ans | LES TRANSES d’Andreas Steindl | GRAND SKI au pied du Cervin | TEST SKIS Des skis pour passer un hiver tout en glisse | TEST CHAUSSURES Trouver chaussure à son pied… et à son ski | LE PAIN DE SEIGLE Produit sain(t) du Valais | NEWS | TRENDS SPORT | TRENDS HORLOGERS | SHOPS ZERMATT | TRENDS DESIGN

Partager