30° Titres SPECIAL ISSUE
VERBIER 2016-2017

Enregistrer Enregistrer

Editorial

Year after year, winter after winter, Verbier maintains its place as one of the very best of Alpine resorts. Its biggest attribute? A ski area with something for everyone, one that is virtually without equal and can meet even the most outlandish of expectations. Family-friendly Verbier means guaranteed top-class skiing, of course, but also the legendary Bec des Rosses and the prestigious Freeride World Tour. In short, it is an Alpine Alaska, a place where the slopes are as virgin as they are steep.

Echoing from the white blanket that cloaks the resort is the sound of fun-filled nights. Verbier knows how to enjoy itself—and in English if need be—before retiring behind the burnished-wood walls of the large chalets that line the centre of the village. Chalets that sit at the foot of the slopes, amid lofty pines that almost hug them with their long snow-laden arms. These superchalets have made an undeniable contribution to Verbier’s success: the quality of accommodation they offer is unrivalled and sets the standard for the Alps as a whole.

This, the fifth special issue that 30° luxury magazine has devoted to Verbier, follows the selfsame recipe that has made the resort such a success: tradition and constant renewal. Along with beauty, the eternal, and time and snowflakes hanging in the air as Christmas and its promise of small pleasures approach, there is action, yearnings, innovations, trends and the rumble of the turning world, a distant sound that is discreetly muffled on the slopes of the Val de Bagnes.

You will see all that for yourself in picking up this issue, which has been put together in the style of a coffee table book, with design, luxury, fashion and the ethereal all an intrinsic part of its identity. Our aim in doing so? To reflect the very essence of Verbier and cast our voices over the mountaintops of this pure and pristine land.

Christian Bugnon | Publisher & Editor-in-chief

www.30degrees.tv | www.30degres.swiss | www.30grad.tv

Content

NEWS Verbier | EXTRAORDINARY CHALETS Love at first sight in Verbier | INTERVIEW Jean-Claude Biver | HIGH JEWELLERY A bejewelled wonderland | TRENDS Watches | VERBEIR FESTIVAL A promising edition | VERBIER CHARITY NIGHT 10th edition | TRIBUTE Estelle Balet | PORTFOLIO Yves Garneau | VALERIE MESSIKA Delicate diamonds | FREERIDE The mecca of off-piste riding | LA CORDEE DES ALPES Exquisite luxury and charm | TELEVERBIER Verbier’s men of mystery | THE WHITE KNIGHT of cheese and friendship | SPORT Trends | SKI TOURING Make the break | DESIGN Trends

Share

30° Titres
HORS-SERIE VERBIER
2016-2017

Enregistrer

Enregistrer

Editorial

Année après année, hiver après hiver, Verbier s’installe au firmament des stations alpines. Son meilleur atout ? Un domaine skiable on et off-piste quasiment sans égal, qui dépasse toutes les ambitions – même les plus démesurées. Verbier, c’est le confort d’un ski haut de gamme, volontiers familial, mais aussi le mythique Bec des Rosses et la consécration du Freeride World Tour – bref, une sorte d’Alaska alpin, où la virginité des pentes le dispute à leur degré d’inclinaison.

Au grand manteau blanc drapé sur les épaules de la station, font écho des soirées et des nuits pleines de folie. On fait ici la fête sans compter (et volontiers en anglais), avant de se retirer derrière les murs de bois patiné des grands chalets qui ourlent le centre, piquetés à flanc de pente, entre des sapins altiers qui semblent les envelopper de leurs grands bras neigeux. Verbier doit à ces superchalets une part non négligeable de son succès : la qualité de l’hébergement y atteint un niveau inégalé, qui vaut modèle pour les Alpes entières.
Ce 5e hors-série de prestige consacré à Verbier par 30° degrés luxury magazine s’inscrit dans la continuité même de ce qui a fait le succès de la station : tradition et renouvellement constant. D’un côté, le beau, l’éternel, le temps et les flocons qui suspendent leur vol à l’approche de la trève de Noël et de ses promesses de petits bonheurs. De l’autre, l’action, les envies, les nouveautés, les tendances, la course du monde et sa rumeur (discrètement estompée) sur les hauteurs du val de Bagnes.

Vous le remarquerez en prenant dans les mains ce numéro, conçu dans l’esprit et avec les atours des beaux livres : le design, le luxe, la mode, l’éthéré font plus que jamais partie intrinsèque de son identité. Notre volonté ? Se faire l’écho de la nature même de Verbier et entendre nos voix se perdre par-delà les sommets jusqu’à retrouver la pureté originelle.

Christian Bugnon | Editeur & rédacteur en chef

www.30degres.swiss | www.30grad.tv | www.30degrees.tv

Sommaire de ce numéro

NEWS Verbier | CHALETS D’EXCEPTION Coups de foudre à Verbier | INTERVIEW Jean-Claude Biver | HAUTE JOAILLERIE Au pays des merveilles | TRENDS Horlogers | VERBIER FESTIVAL Une édition prometteuse | VERBIER CHARITY NIGHT 10e édition | HOMMAGE Estelle Balet | PORTFOLIO Yves Garneau | VALERIE MESSIKA Le diamant en toute simplicité | FREERIDE La mecque du hors-piste | LA CORDEE DES ALPES Luxe, charme et volupté | TELEVERBIER Mais qui sont les «mystery men»? | LE CHEVALIER BLANC du fromage et de l’amitié | TRENDS Sport | RANDONNEE A SKI L’échapée libre | TRENDS design

Partager